Tags: china bayles


Book Critique – Lavender Lies (China Bayles #8)

For review of all books in this series: Go here.

Stars: 3 / 5

My Recommendation: A cute cozy mystery focusing on female power following a plot centering on planning a wedding, but murders get in the way. Albert wrote a tightly packed mystery. 

Lavender Lies is the eighth book in the China Bayles Herbal Mysteries by Susan Wittig Albert and first published in October of 1999. The stories in the series revolve around China Bayles and her fiancée Mike McQuaid in solving crimes around them as well as running a successful herb shop.

Herbalist China Bayles closes her shop as a hot-shot criminal attorney in Houston to pursue her passion in herbs by buying a herb shop named "Thyme and Seasons" in a small town called Pecan Springs between Austin and San Antonio. She craves for a quiet and simple life with people she love surrounding her. However her intelligent brain pushes her back into the investigation crimes around her quiet little nook. Each mystery has a signature herb that connects to the main plot while Bayles also shares herbal and gardening tips and yummy recipes with her friends and us readers. Frequently her fiancée Michael "Mike" McQuaid partners with her investigations. 

Collapse )